Co-op Week 1&2

Wahoo, 4 years since I last wrote! I’m really interested that the last time I wrote here, I was still working on an associates degree in computer technology. I’m actually now two years away from a Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering, and just began my first co-op experience at Mass General Hospital two weeks ago. My position is the IT Systems Co-op in the Department of Anesthesia and perioperative care.

So what on Earth do I even do? In just my first two weeks I’ve had exposure to many different projects ranging from IT assistance in the operating rooms, to upgrading software libraries on automatic syringe pumps, to testing equipment for software upgrade readiness. I’ve also been able to sit in on meetings with software developers who are helping shape the new systems coming into the hospital, which has given really interesting prospective on the big picture.

I’m so excited for the next 4 months!

One thought on “Co-op Week 1&2

Leave a Reply

